To content
Degree programms

Studies with reference to sustainability

Some degree programmes at TU Dortmund deal with aspects of sustainability from within their subject area, which is reflected in lectures and modules or areas of specialisation as well as research topics. Currently, there are no degree programmes that identify exclusively with the topic of sustainability or have this in their name.

The following is an overview of the degree programmes that deal in depth with social, economic and ecological sustainability. Individual modules or courses can usually be found on the pages of the faculties or in the listing of sustainable courses.

Please be aware, that most of the degree programms are provided only in german. For information about the language check the main page or get in contact with the faculties.

 

The Architecture and Urban Planning degree programme prepares students for the construction of buildings under building law, technical, economic, ecological, political and historical aspects.

In the Master's degree programme, one can qualify in the field of construction planning and gain in-depth artistic, scientific and technical knowledge.

In the specialisation area 'Resource-efficient building' of the Master's degree, planning principles are examined under sustainable and energy aspects and their influence on architecture and building construction, and are further developed in terms of design and function.

Bachelor Architecture and Urban Design

Master Architecture and Urban Design with specialisation 'Resource-efficient building'

Civil engineers plan, calculate and construct load-bearing structures. In doing so, they use their technical-constructive knowledge and take into account the physical properties of materials and various construction methods. In the Dortmund model project, prospective civil engineers learn together with students of architecture and urban planning in order to strengthen interdisciplinary cooperation.

The Master's programme in Civil Engineering provides in-depth technical-scientific knowledge for the design and calculation of constructions and load-bearing structures. In the specialisation area 'Resource-efficient construction', students deal with the constructive, technical and, in particular, physical interrelationships of buildings. Against the background of holistic, integrative design and planning principles, sustainable and energetic aspects as well as their influence on the supporting structure, the construction and the choice of materials are to be examined and further developed in terms of design and function. The ability and understanding of the analytical examination of the built environment in connection with energy efficiency and resource-saving use of materials is a prerequisite.

In bioengineering and chemical engineering, people are in demand who seek engineering technical solutions for the small and large problems of our lives: It is about clean laundry, clean water and clean air, but also about the production of paint, cosmetics, medicine, fertiliser or new forms of energy.

Since last year, the group of Bioprocess Engineering has been offering a public lecture series entitled 'Klima: Wandel, Werte, Wissenschaft' (eng. Climate: Change, Values, Science). Many external scientists are invited to talk about their research areas, which deal directly with the causes, problems and solutions of climate change. The lecture is the basic module for the studium oecologicum certificate, which the TU has been offering since the winter semester 2021/22. Currently the lecture is provided only in german. 

 Bachelor Biochemical engineering

Master Biochemical engineering

 

 

Today, new findings in science, business, administration and technology almost always arise from large and complex amounts of data. For the proper handling of patient or customer data, share prices and returns as well as weather or climate information, knowledge of statistics, computer science and mathematics is required. These subjects are combined in the Data Science degree programme. Students gain the ability to conduct statistical data analyses and at the same time gain deeper insights into concepts and methods of computer science.

In the Statistical Science programme, students deal with separating chance from system, inferring from samples to populations, identifying causal relationships or finding small needles in large haystacks.

Bachelor Data Science

Master Data Science

Bachelor Statistics

Master Statistics

The Electrical Engineering and Information Technology degree programme deals with issues from a wide range of technical fields. These range from energy conversion and transmission to automotive electronics and the development and processing of microchips to data communication.

Within the scope of the degree programme, students can comprehensively deal with topics related to energy generation, transmission and conversion. Especially since the power grid must be extensively expanded for a climate-neutral economy, these competences are important for a sustainable future.

Some appropriate modules are also listed in the sustainable courses catalogue .

Bachelor Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Master Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Spatial planning is an interdisciplinary field of engineering that deals with the spatial development of living, working and environmental conditions. The different spatial levels range from the residential environment and neighbourhood to the urban district, the city as a whole, the region, the state and federal levels and even the European and international levels.

The task and goal of spatial planning is to analyse different requirements, conflicts and opportunities in space and, based on this, to point out concepts, solutions and strategies and to accompany their implementation. Current or future problem situations are dealt with in a forward-looking manner.

In the study of spatial planning, one can deal with many aspects of sustainability. These include topics such as future urban and transport concepts, migration, landscape ecology or climate impact adaptation. There are a large number of modules offered, some of which can also be taken in the studium oecologicum certificate.

Degree programms in spatial planning

The international Master's programme SPRING deals with spatial planning in regions with growing economies and populations, including countries of the Global South.

During their studies, students learn about the challenges of rapidly growing urban populations, reflect on conflicts between the economy and the environment, and design sustainable infrastructure and strategies for climate impact adaptation.

It is an international degree programme that can be completed in the first year at the TU and in the second year at an international partner university in Chile, Ghana, Brazil, Tanzania or the Philippines.

The programme deals (in)directly with the consequences of climate change for developing countries and analyses concepts that will shape future societies and infrastructures.

 

The Rehabilitation Science programme is a Master's programme in which students gain knowledge about fields of work with rehabilitation education requirements in an inclusive society. The programme is closely linked to social sustainability as it deals with rehabilitation and inclusion of, among others, people with disabilities in our society.

Some modules in rehabilitation science deal directly with inclusion, health and human rights and can also be partially credited in the studium oecologicum certificate. The modules can be found in the catalogue of sustainable courses.

 

 

Location & approach

The campus of the TU Dortmund University is located near the freeway junction Dortmund West, where the A45 crosses the B1/A40. The Dortmund-Eichlinghofen exit on the A45 leads to the South Campus, the Dortmund-Dorstfeld exit on the A40 leads to the North Campus. The university is signposted at both exits.

The "Dortmund Universität" S-Bahn station is located directly on the North Campus. From there, the S1 runs every 20 or 30 minutes to Dortmund main station and in the opposite direction to Düsseldorf main station via Bochum, Essen and Duisburg. In addition, the university can be reached by the bus lines 445, 447 and 462. Timetable information can be found on the homepage of the Rhine-Ruhr transport association, and DSW21 also offers an interactive route network map.

One of the landmarks of the TU Dortmund is the H-Bahn. Line 1 runs every 10 minutes between Dortmund Eichlinghofen and the Technology Center via Campus South and Dortmund University S, while Line 2 commutes every 5 minutes between Campus North and Campus South. It covers this distance in two minutes.

From Dortmund Airport, the AirportExpress takes just over 20 minutes to Dortmund main station and from there to the university by S-Bahn. A wider range of international flight connections is offered by Düsseldorf Airport, about 60 kilometers away, which can be reached directly by S-Bahn from the university's train station.

Zum Inhalt
Studiengänge

Studiengänge mit Bezug zu dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit

Einige Studiengänge der TU Dortmund beschäftigen sich in ihrem Fachgebiet mit Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit, was sich in den Vorlesungen und Modulen oder Vertiefungsbereichen sowie Forschungsschwerpunkten zeigt. Aktuell gibt es keine Studiengänge, die sich ausschließlich mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit namentlich identifizieren.

Es folgt eine Übersicht der Studiengänge, in denen sich vertieft mit sozialer, ökonomischer und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit auseinandergesetzt wird. Einzelne Module oder Veranstaltungen sind in der Regel auf den Seiten der Fakultäten zu finden oder in der Auflistung zu nachhaltigen Lehrveranstaltungen.

Der Studiengang Architektur und Städtebau bereitet Studierende auf das Konstruieren von Bauwerken unter baurechtliche,  tech­ni­sche, wirtschaftliche, öko­lo­gi­sche,  po­li­ti­sche und historische Aspekte vor.

Im Masterstudiengang kann man sich im Bereich Bauplanung qualifizieren und vertiefte künstlerische, wissenschaftliche und technische Kenntnisse erlangen.

Im Vertiefungsbereich 'Ressourceneffizientes Bauen' des Masters werden  Planungsprinzipien unter nachhaltige und energetische Aspekte sowie deren Einfluss auf Architektur und Baukonstruktion untersucht und gestalterisch als auch funktional weiterentwickelt.

Bachelor Architektur und Städtebau

Master Architektur und Städtebau mit Vertiefungsrichtung Ressourceneffizientes Bauen

Bauingenieurinnen und Bauingenieure planen, berechnen und konstruieren Tragwerke. Dabei bedienen sie sich ihrer technisch-konstruktiven Kennt­nisse, berücksichtigen die bauphysikalischen  Materialeigenschaften und ver­schie­de­nen Bauverfahren. Im Dortmunder Modellprojekt lernen angehende Bauingenieure gemeinsam mit Studierenden des Studiengang Architektur und Städtebaus um die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zu stärken.

Der Masterstudiengang Bau­in­ge­nieur­we­sen gibt vertiefte technisch-wis­sen­schaft­lichen Kennt­nisse für die Konzeption und Be­rech­nung von Konstruktionen und Tragwerken. Im Vertiefungsbereich ‚Ressourceneffizientes Bauen‘ wird sich mit konstruktiven, technischen und insbesondere bauphysikalischen Zusammenhängen von Gebäuden auseinander gesetzt. Vor dem Hintergrund von ganzheitlichen, integrativen Entwurfs- und Planungsprinzipien sollen nachhaltige und energetische Aspekte sowie deren Einfluss auf das Tragwerk, die Konstruktion und Materialwahl untersucht und gestalterisch als auch funktional weiterentwickelt werden. Vorausgesetzt werden die Fähigkeit und das Verständnis der analytischen Auseinandersetzung von gebauter Umwelt im Zusammenhangmit Energieeffizienz und ressourcenschonendem Materialeinsatz.

Im Bio- und Chemie­ingenieur­wesen sind Men­schen gefragt, die (ingenieur-) tech­ni­sche Lö­sun­gen für die kleinen und großen Probleme unseres Lebens suchen: Es geht um saubere Wäsche, sauberes Wasser und saubere Luft, aber auch um die Herstellung von Farbe, Kosmetik, Medizin, Dünger oder um neue Energieformen.

Der Lehrstuhl Bioprozesstechnik bietet seit letztem Jahr eine öffentliche Ringvorlesung mit dem Titel: ‚Klima: Wandel, Werte, Wissenschaft’ an. Dabei werden auch viele externe Wissenschaftler*innen eingeladen, aus ihrem Forschungsgebiet zu erzählen welche sich unmittelbar mit Ursachen, Problemen und Lösungen zum Klimawandel beschäftigen. Die Veranstaltung ist das Basismodul für das Zertifikat studium oecologicum, welches die TU seit dem Wintersemester 2021/22 anbietet.

Bachelor Biochemieingenieurswesen

Master Bioingenieurswesen

 

Neue Erkennt­nisse in Wis­sen­schaft, Wirt­schaft, Ver­wal­tung und Tech­nik ent­ste­hen heute fast immer aus großen und kom­ple­xen Datenmengen. Zum sachgerechten Umgang mit Patienten- oder Kundendaten, Aktienkursen und -renditen sowie Wetter- oder Klimainformationen braucht man Kennt­nisse aus der Sta­tis­tik, der In­for­ma­tik und der Mathe­matik. Im Stu­di­en­gang Data Science wer­den diese Fächer kom­bi­niert. Stu­die­ren­de erlangen die Befähigung zu sta­tis­tischen Datenanalysen und gleichzeitig tiefere Einsichten in Konzepte und Me­tho­den der In­for­ma­tik.

Im Studiengang Statstik befassen sich die Studierenden mit dem Trennen von Zufall und System, dem Schließen von Stichproben auf Grundgesamtheiten, dem Identifizieren von Kausalbeziehungen oder dem Auffinden von kleinen Nadeln in großen Heuhaufen.

 

Der Studiengang Elektro- und In­for­ma­tions­tech­nik be­schäf­tigt sich mit Fragestellungen aus vielfältigen tech­nisch­en Be­rei­chen. Diese reichen von Energieumwandlung und -übertragung über KFZ-Elektronik sowie Ent­wick­lung und Prozessierung von Mikrochips bis hin zur Datenkommunikation.

Im Rahmen des Studiengangs können sich Studierende umfassend mit Themen zu Energieerzeugung, Übertragung und Umwandlung beschäftigen. Besonders da für eine klimaneutrale Wirtschaft das Stromnetz umfangreich erweitert werden muss, sind diese Kompetenzen wichtig für eine nachhaltige Zukunft.

Die passenden Module sind auch im Katalog zu nachhaltigen Lehrveranstaltungen aufgelistet

Raum­pla­nung ist ein In­ge­ni­eur­wis­sen­schaft­li­ches, interdisziplinäres Arbeitsfeld, das sich mit den räumlichen Ent­wick­lungen der Lebens-, Ar­beits- und Umweltbedingungen be­schäf­tigt. Die un­ter­schied­lichen räumlichen Ebenen reichen vom Wohnumfeld und Wohnquartier über den Stadtteil, die Gesamtstadt, die Region, die Lan­des- und Bundesebene bis hin zur eu­ro­pä­isch­en und inter­natio­nalen Ebene.

Aufgabe und Ziel der Raum­pla­nung ist es, unterschiedliche An­for­de­run­gen, Konflikte und Chancen im Raum zu analysieren und darauf aufbauend Konzepte, Lösungswege und Stra­te­gi­en aufzuzeigen sowie deren Um­set­zung zu begleiten. Aktuelle bzw. zukünftige Problemlagen wer­den vorausschauend behandelt.

Im Studium Raumplanung kann man sich mit vielen Aspekten von Nachhaltigkeit beschäftigen. Darunter fallen Themen wie zukünftige Stadt- und Verkehrskonzepte, Migration, Landschaftsökologie oder Klimafolgenanpassung. Es existieren eine Vielzahl an angebotenen Modulen, von denen einige auch im Zertifikat studium oecologicum belegt werden können.

Studiengänge Raumplanung

Der internationale Masterstudiengang SPRING beschäftigt sich mit Raumplanung in Regionen mit wachsender Ökonomie und Bevölkerung unter anderem in Ländern des globalen Südens.

Während des Studiums lernen die Studierenden die Herausforderungen stark wachsender urbaner Bevölkerungen, reflektieren Konflikte zwischen Wirtschaft und Umwelt und konzipieren zukunftsfähige Infrastruktur und Strategien für Klimafolgenanpassung.

Es handelt sich um einen internationalen Studiengang der im ersten Jahr an der TU und im zweiten Jahr an einer internationalen Partneruniversität in Chile, Ghana, Brasilien, Tansania oder auf den Phillipinen absolviert werden kann.

Im Rahmen des Studiengang wird sich (in)direkt mit den Folgen des Klimawandels für Entiwicklungsstaaten beschäftigt sowie Konzepte analysiert die zukünftige Gesellschaften und Infrastrukturen formen.

 

Der Stu­di­en­gang Re­ha­bili­ta­tions­wissen­schaf­ten ist ein Master­studien­gang, indem Studierende Kenntnisse gewinnen über  Arbeitsfelder mit rehabilitationspädagogischen An­for­de­run­gen in einer inklusiven Gesell­schaft. Der Studiengang ist eng mit sozialer Nachhaltigkeit verknüpft, da er sich mit Rehabilitation und Inklusion von unter anderem Menschen mit Behinderung in unsere Gesellschaft einsetzt.

Einige Module der Rehabilitationswissenschaften beschäftigen sich direkt mit Inklusion, Gesundheit und Menschenrechten und lassen sich teilweise auch im Zertifikat studium oecologicum anrechnen. Die Module können dem Katalog zu nachhaltigen Lehrveranstaltungen entnommen werden.

 

 

Anfahrt & Lageplan

Der Campus der Technischen Universität Dortmund liegt in der Nähe des Autobahnkreuzes Dortmund West, wo die Sauerlandlinie A45 den Ruhrschnellweg B1/A40 kreuzt. Die Abfahrt Dortmund-Eichlinghofen auf der A45 führt zum Campus Süd, die Abfahrt Dortmund-Dorstfeld auf der A40 zum Campus-Nord. An beiden Ausfahrten ist die Universität ausgeschildert.

Direkt auf dem Campus Nord befindet sich die S-Bahn-Station „Dortmund Universität“. Von dort fährt die S-Bahn-Linie S1 im 20- oder 30-Minuten-Takt zum Hauptbahnhof Dortmund und in der Gegenrichtung zum Hauptbahnhof Düsseldorf über Bochum, Essen und Duisburg. Außerdem ist die Universität mit den Buslinien 445, 447 und 462 zu erreichen. Eine Fahrplanauskunft findet sich auf der Homepage des Verkehrsverbundes Rhein-Ruhr, außerdem bieten die DSW21 einen interaktiven Liniennetzplan an.
 

Zu den Wahrzeichen der TU Dortmund gehört die H-Bahn. Linie 1 verkehrt im 10-Minuten-Takt zwischen Dortmund Eichlinghofen und dem Technologiezentrum über Campus Süd und Dortmund Universität S, Linie 2 pendelt im 5-Minuten-Takt zwischen Campus Nord und Campus Süd. Diese Strecke legt sie in zwei Minuten zurück.

Vom Flughafen Dortmund aus gelangt man mit dem AirportExpress innerhalb von gut 20 Minuten zum Dortmunder Hauptbahnhof und von dort mit der S-Bahn zur Universität. Ein größeres Angebot an internationalen Flugverbindungen bietet der etwa 60 Kilometer entfernte Flughafen Düsseldorf, der direkt mit der S-Bahn vom Bahnhof der Universität zu erreichen ist.